Who was Maria Montessori?

Born in Chiaravalle, Italy in 1870, Maria Montessori became Italy's first female doctor in 1896. She then became the director of the speech therapy school in Rome, which welcomes deficient children. Ignorant of pedagogy, she studied the work of two French doctors, J.Itard and E.Seguin (the first became famous for his work on the case of "the wild child, Victor de l'Aveyron", the second developed a complete pedagogical method for teaching "idiot" children).  

 

Passionate about their work, she had the material developed by Séguin reproduced and used it successfully with the children at the school. 

 

She continued her studies in the fields of philosophy, psychology and anthropology and became professor of anthropology at the University of Rome.

 

Passionate about education, she opened the first "Children's House" in San Lorenzo in 1907. She started from the conviction that traditional education hinders the development of children by forcing them to bend to a framework designed by and for adults. 

 

The natural tendency of young children (3 to 6 years old) is to imitate adults, often they are given toys that only allow them to "pretend". Therefore, she started by having furniture and tools made that were adapted to the size and strength of the children so that they are really given free rein to their desire to imitate.

 

It is almost by chance that she provides these young children the Séguin equipment designed for much older deficient children. She then noticed that the children were naturally attracted by the material and that they learning came effortlessly and with ease.

 

This discovery is the starting point of his "scientific pedagogy", based on the observation of children left free to move and carry out their activities in an environment adapted to them.

 

Right up until her death in 1952, she continued to advocate in favor of a more thoughtful consideration of the specificity of each child. Her ideas were widely celebrated, resulting in hundreds of "children's houses" throughout the world.

Qui était Maria Montessori?

 

Née à  Chiaravalle, Italie en 1870, Maria Montessori est devenue en 1896, la première femme médecin d'Italie. Elle prend ensuite la direction de l’école orthophrénique de Rome, qui accueille des enfants déficients. Ignorant tout de la pédagogie, elle étudie les travaux de deux médecins français, J.Itard et E.Seguin (Le premier s’est rendu célèbre par son travail sur le cas de “l’enfant sauvage, Victor de l’Aveyron”, le second a élaboré une méthode pédagogique complète pour enseigner aux enfants “idiots”).

 

Passionnée par leurs travaux, elle fait reproduire le matériel élaboré par Séguin et l’utilise avec succès auprès des enfants de l’école. 

 

Elle continue ses études dans les domaines de la philosophie, de la psychologie et de l'anthropologie et devient professeur d'anthroplogie à l'univsersité de Rome.

 

Toujours passionnée par l’éducation, elle ouvre 1907 la première “Maison des enfants” à San Lorenzo. Elle part de la conviction que l’éducation traditionnelle contrarie le développement de l’enfant en le contraignant à se plier à un cadre conçu par et pour les adultes.

 

La tendance naturelle des jeunes enfant (3 à 6 ans) est l’imitation des adultes, mais on ne met à leur disposition que des jouets qui ne permettent que de “faire semblant”. Elle commence donc par faire fabriquer du mobilier et des outils adaptés à la taille et à la force des enfants pour qu’ils puissent réellement donner libre court à leur désir d’imitation.

 

C’est presque par hasard qu’elle met à disposition de ces jeunes enfant le matériel de Séguin conçu pour des enfants déficients beaucoup plus agés. Elle constate alors que les enfants sont naturellement attirés par ce matériel et qu’ils apprennent grâce à lui sans effort et avec une facilité déconcertante ce qui demanderait aux enfants plus agés un travail laborieux.

 

Cette découverte est le point de départ de sa “pédagogie scientifique”, fondée sur l’observation des enfants laissés libres de leurs mouvements et de leurs activités dans un environnement adapté à eux. 

 

Jusqu’à sa mort en 1952, elle poursuivra son action en faveur d’une meilleure prise en compte de la spécificité de l’enfant, en créant des centaines de “maisons des enfants” à travers le monde. 

  • Facebook - White Circle
Camille Hériard Dubreuil +33 (0)6 89 61 57 08