Elementary:an emphasis on thinking skills

The Montessori elementary program provides children a unique opportunity for growth. The imaginative, social and creative child craves an environment that offers appropriate freedom and boundaries, with an extensive curriculum to support their curiosity and prepare them for the challenges of the future.

Characteristics of the 6 to 12 years old child

ecole montessori uzes-11.jpg
ecole montessori uzes-12.jpg
Imagination & Reasoning

"The imagination is the eye that allows the child to see into the past and into the future." - Maria Montessori

Children aged 6 to 12 no longer just want to know the "what is it?", they will begin to question the "why" and "how" and the connections between. They are able to use both imagination and reason to explore concepts beyond the here and now.

 

Explore Society

Children aged 3 to 6 get to know themselves and the world through their "absorbing mind". Children between the ages of 6 and 12 continue this exploration, but in relation to society as a whole. The child's thoughts become more complex, such as,  "I want to understand what I do not see, to be part of the world that I did not know". Elementary school children are very social and interested in issues such as cooperation, fairness and decision making.

 
Desire to belong  

Children in elementary school rarely work alone. This is the age of groups and clubs - what Montessori calls "the herd instinct". Children yearn to do what others are doing as they explore friendships and societal rules. Group lessons with collaborative work and discussions are important parts of the learning process. By collaborating on projects, children learn to identify and share their particular strengths and skills. By participating in activities that encourage group work and conflict resolution, children learn skills that encourage the art of peacemaking.

Exploring good and evil

Elementary school children love to challenge and set rules. Even though they don't always play by the rules themselves, they are constantly observing to make sure everyone else is. Teachers help the child determine how to act in different situations, to learn the basic rules of civility and to understand what is considered good and bad by society.

Discipline and Problem Solving

Our approach to discipline is to help children learn that they are responsible for their actions and that their actions have consequences. Whether the problem is between two people or the whole class, teachers aid children to be independent problem solvers.

Curriculum

ecole montessori uzes-10.jpg
ecole montessori uzes-9.jpg
ecole montessori uzes-8.jpg

Maria Montessori called the elementary education program "cosmic education" due to it's aim to expose children to a full range of human knowledge, using an integrated approach to learning placed in a worldly context. 

The framework of the elementary curriculum is established with an overview of the history of the universe. By studying ancient civilizations, children discover that all aspects of knowledge are fundamental; including math, language, history, botany, geography, music, and art. This understanding fosters a love of learning and a desire to take their place as active members of the community.

During the 6 to 9 year period, lessons are primarily presented using Montessori materials and exercises. The transition to more critical thinking and the use of books and other research material begins at this level and continues through the elementary years. The teacher and student go through lessons and homework together, the goal being that students assess their own learning. Parent-teacher meetings take place regularly throughout the year.

Mathematics and geometry

Mathematics is taught as a process of understanding through visualized abstractions. This is the main reason for using various learning materials, as children spontaneously understand the process. A child might say, "I can do the checkerboard without the checkerboard" - meaning that he or she can multiply in an abstract way without depending on the materials. During the elementary years, children focus on basic operations, the decimal system, fractions, and geometry. Some concepts of algebra, such as the square and the cube, are also explored.

Language

Language arts focuses on spelling, grammar and sentence analysis. Reading skills learned from the ages of 3-6 are continuously improved through direct classroom applications, such as literature, poetry and book discussion groups.

Geography
Children are explorers and want to understand how the world around us was created. It is through experiences and outings that children will develop a scientific mind and begin to understand geographical concepts; the relationship between the Earth and the sun, the importance of air and water...

Biology

Children study the origin of life, plants and animals. Gardening and taking care of living organisms is an essential experience. According to Montessori, "taking care of living things on a daily basis satisfies one of the keenest instincts of the (young) mind. Nothing is better calculated than that to awaken an attitude of respect."

History
In this stage of development, the child learns to situate himself in time. They question the history of humanity and we accompany them as they learn. We are also interested in unknown heroes, everyday people who have contributed to our present life. We discuss the basic needs of human beings and how we have always adapted to our natural environments.
 
Research projects and critical thinking

Research methods and the development of critical thinking are introduced, we also encouraging independent and group study. In this process, the library, computer and other reference materials become important resources.

Children are encouraged to go beyond the confines of the classroom to seek answers to their questions using community resources such as libraries, museums and knowledgeable experts. Results gained from their research can be presented through written reports, poetry, works of art and demonstrations.

Elémentaire: apprendre à penser

Le programme Montessori en élémentaire offre à l'enfant une occasion unique de grandir dans cette nouvelle période de la vie. L'enfant imaginatif, social et créatif a besoin d'un environnement offrant une liberté et des limites appropriées, avec un programme d'études étendu pour soutenir sa curiosité et le préparer aux défis de l'avenir.

Caractéristiques de l''enfant de 6 à 12 ans

Raison et Imagination

"L'imagination est l'œil qui permet à l'enfant de voir dans le passé et dans le futur". - Maria Montessori

Les enfants de 6 à 12 ans ne veulent plus simplement savoir "Qu'est-ce que c'est ? Ils doivent maintenant savoir "pourquoi" et "comment", et comment tout cela s'articule. Ils sont capables d'utiliser à la fois la raison et l'imagination pour explorer des abstractions au delà du concret, ici et maintenant.

 

Explorer la Société

Les enfants de trois à six ans apprennent à se connaître et à connaître le monde grâce à leur "esprit absorbant". Les enfants de six à douze ans poursuivent cette exploration de l'individu, mais en relation avec la société dans son ensemble. L'enfant peut penser : "Je veux comprendre ce que je ne vois pas, faire partie du monde que je n'ai pas connu". Les enfants du primaire sont très sociables et s'intéressent à des questions telles que la coopération, l'équité et la prise de décision.

 
Besoin d'appartenance 

L'enfant en élémentaire travaille rarement seul. C'est l'âge des groupes et des clubs - ce que Montessori appelle "l'instinct de troupeau". Les enfants veulent faire ce que les autres font. Ils explorent les amitiés ainsi que les règles de la société. Les leçons de groupe avec travail corollaire et discussions sont des parties importantes du processus d'apprentissage. En collaborant à des projets, les enfants apprennent à identifier et à partager leurs forces et leurs compétences particulières. Grâce à des activités qui renforcent la cohésion du groupe et résolvent les conflits, les enfants acquièrent des compétences et des outils qui encouragent l'art de la coopération pour le rétablissement de la paix.

Explorer le bien et le mal 

Les enfants du primaire remettent en question et adorent établir des règles. Même s'ils ne respectent pas toujours les règles eux-mêmes, ils les observent constamment pour s'assurer que tout le monde les respecte. Les enseignants aident l'enfant à déterminer comment agir dans différentes situations, à apprendre les règles de base de la courtoisie et à comprendre ce qui est considéré comme bien et mal par la société.

Discipline et Résolution de problèmes 

Notre approche de la discipline consiste à aider les enfants à apprendre qu'ils sont responsables de leurs actes et que ceux-ci ont des conséquences naturelles. Que le problème concerne deux personnes ou toute la classe, les enseignants aident les enfants à apprendre à résoudre les problèmes par eux-mêmes.

Curriculum

MariMontessori a appelé le programme d'enseignement primaire "éducation cosmique" parce que son but est d'exposer l'enfant à toute la gamme des connaissances humaines dans une approche intégrée de l'apprentissage placée dans le contexte le plus large possible.

Le contexte du programme primaire est établi dans une vue d'ensemble de l'histoire de l'univers. En étudiant les civilisations anciennes, les enfants découvrent que tous les aspects de la connaissance, y compris les mathématiques, la langue, l'histoire, la botanique, la géographie, la musique et l'art, ont développé les besoins humains fondamentaux. Cette compréhension favorise l'amour de l'apprentissage et l'envie de prendre leur place en tant que membres actifs de la communauté.

Pendant la période de six à neuf ans, la plupart des leçons sont principalement présentées à l'aide de matériel et d'exercices Montessori.

La transition vers une pensée plus abstraite et le recours à des livres et autres matériels de recherche commence à ce niveau et se poursuit pendant les années primaires. L'enseignant et l'élève passent en revue les leçons et les devoirs ensemble. Notre objectif est d'aider les élèves à évaluer leur propre apprentissage. Des entretiens parents-enseignants ont lieu régulièrement tout au long de l'année.

Mathématiques et géométrie

Les mathématiques sont enseignées comme un processus de compréhension par le biais d'abstractions visualisées. C'est la raison essentielle de l'utilisation de l'appareil didactique, car les enfants comprennent spontanément le processus. Un enfant pourrait dire : "Je peux faire le damier sans le damier" - ce qui signifie qu'il ou elle peut se multiplier de manière abstraite sans dépendre des matériaux. Pendant les années primaires, les enfants se concentrent sur les opérations de base, le système décimal, les fractions et la géométrie en utilisant des matériaux de manipulation. Certains concepts d'algèbre, tels que le carré et le cube, sont également explorés.

Langage

Les arts du langage mettent l'accent sur l'orthographe, la grammaire et l'analyse des phrases. Les compétences en lecture acquises au niveau trois à six sont continuellement améliorées par des applications directes en classe, comme la littérature, la poésie et les groupes de discussion sur les livres. 

Géographie
Les enfants sont des explorateurs et veulent comprendre comment  le monde qui nous entoure a été créé. C'est à travers des expériences, des sorties que les enfants vont développer un esprit scientifique et vont comprendre des concepts abstraits; la relation entre la Terre et le soleil, le travail de l'air, de l'eau...  

Biologie

Les enfants étudient l'origine de la vie, les plantes et les animaux. Jardiner et prendre soin de la vie est une expérience essentielle. Selon Montessori, "prendre soin des êtres vivants quotidiennement donne satisfaction à l'un des instincts les plus vifs de l'esprit (du jeune)". Rien n'est mieux calculé que cela pour éveiller une attitude de respect". 

Histoire
Dans cette étape de développement, l'enfant apprenne à se situer dans le temps. Il s'interroge sur la vie des hommes et nous l'accompagnons à travers l'histoire de l'humanité. Nous nous intéressons également à des héros inconnus, des gens humbles qui ont contribué à notre vie actuelle. Nous parlons des besoins fondamentaux des êtres humains et comment nous nous sommes toujours adaptés aux milieux naturels.  
 
Projets de recherches et Esprit critique

Des méthodes de recherches et le dévéloppement de l'esprit critique sont introduites pour permettre l'étude indépendante et en groupe. Dans ce processus, la bibliothèque, l'ordinateur et les autres documents de référence deviennent une ressource importante.

Les enfants sont encouragés à dépasser les limites de la salle de classe pour chercher des réponses à leurs questions dans les ressources de la communauté, y compris les bibliothèques, les musées et les experts bien informés. Les résultats de la recherche peuvent être communiqués par le biais de rapports écrits, de poésie, d'œuvres d'art, de démonstrations et de mises en scène.

Ecole Montessori Uzès Bilingue
Camille Hériard Dubreuil +33 (0)6 89 61 57 08
Chemin du Mas Saint-Jean, 30700 Uzès
  • Instagram
  • Facebook - White Circle